Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 41
  • Babysitter in Hopkinsville, KY 42240

Meet Jennifer

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My first job as a nanny was when I was 17 (23 LONG years ago, lol) in Maryland where I grew up. I took care of a 6 week old baby girl and 5 year old boy until I was no longer needed (4 years, even moved in with them for a time). It was hard leaving them, we had become like a family. After that I held regular factory and convenience store jobs for a time, but I started having issues with my back. Since then I have had 4 back surgeries so I can't work at a regular job. In 2011, my sister (who was in the army at the time) asked me to move down to help her with my two nieces while she was deployed in Iraq. The youngest was 15 months and her oldest was 9 at the time (now they are 9 and 17!!) Read more I also started taking care of two children from a neighboring military family, a 4 month old baby girl and 3 year old boy. And I took care of them for over a year until they PCSd to Colorado. While living down here our stepdad passed and I drove to Maryland to bring my mom down to be with us. Then my sister was medically retired in 2014 and mom and I moved here to Hopkinsville, which I love. Unfortunately I didn't get much time with her after that, she was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer and passed away a year later. I quit smoking 2 years ago this past November, I'm sure you understand why. I have been referred to as Aunt Jenny by almost every child/teenager I've been in contact with since I've moved down here. Which is heartfelt to me, because I am not able to have my own, so I make sure that they all feel like they're my little gifts as well. I LOVE dogs, but am highly allergic to cats. And I am not only willing to do light housework/laundry and meal prep, I feel like that should be part of the job regardless. I started to attend Hopkinsville Community College before my mom got sick, but I had to quit to take care of her. And I have had CPR and first responder training in the past for factories that I've worked in, but I don't hold a certification currently. I love to draw, play fun educational games and do lots of arts and crafts with the kids.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 7/17/19

Ratings & reviews

Jennifer doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$5-$8/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Overnight care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Attended Hopkinsville Community College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • Social studies

Share Jennifer's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now