Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 48
  • Babysitter in Paducah, KY 42003

Meet Eric

  • Speaks English, Portuguese, and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My first babysitting jobs were in the 1980's and my experience has built from there. Kids continue to amaze me with how quickly they learn, how creative they can be with a little encouragement, and how they start to show genuine respect and interest in relating when they feel respected and appreciated. I just recently relocated from Oregon, where I have worked over 11 years as a skills trainer and later a counselor for kids who have some major struggles, including those in foster care. I stopped doing the intensive children's mental health work when my little boy was born and started a private practice, which nowadays since relocating means working with a few Oregonians each week via Skype. My clinical social work license will take about 2 years to transfer to KY, so my time is a much better bargain here. And I'm enjoying less paperwork, no diagnosing, no Read more treatment plans... and more Legos, art, healthy snacks, bikes, gardening, puppet theater, music jams, soccer jams.... in trying to be part of the solution here in my new community... inclusive of kids on the "spectrum" and with other special needs. I'm happy to tell you more about me by phone and learn about your family's kid-care needs, and my resume' and references are available. I'm happy to commute considerable distances but will ask for consideration for mileage and time. I prefer not to drive client-kids around town but we can discuss specific needs, and I'll help pick up the messes we make in your home (and help reinforce that value with your kiddo). As a parent and professional, I take this work and the trust that people place in me very seriously, and I won't be facebooking my friends or looking at snapchats or youtubes or otherwise entertaining myself on your dime (your kids' time). I have a master's degree in social work, like counseling and with a focus on kids/teens and how people do their best learning, and I can comfortably tutor language arts (English, beginning Spanish), social studies/ history, maths up through algebra/geometry, sciences up through basic chemistry, music... Wednesday and Thursday afternoons are my most available times each week. Due to family commitments, I'm never available Mondays or Tuesdays. Available every-other Friday, Saturday and Sunday (Sept 6-8, 20-22, and so on...).

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Eric doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$13-$18/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Masters in Social Work

Graduated Portland State University 2011

Share Eric's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now