Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 1 year paid experience
  • Babysitter in Baton Rouge, LA 70803

Meet Malasia

  • Speaks English and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

UPDATE: I hope you are well. I will likely not be able to babysit at this time, at least, not in a recurring fashion. I apologize. Stay safe! Hi! I'm Malasia, a college junior studying Journalism and Psychology, with interests in eating disorders, child psychology, and developmental psychology. I am also interested in how the media works and how it impacts us in different ways. In my free time, I write prose or short creative pieces and work on Canva graphic designs. From Fall 2019 to Spring 2020 (pre-Covid), I worked at Louisiana State University's Early Childhood Education Laboratory Preschool with children aged six weeks to five or six years old. I mainly assisted primary and secondary teachers in rooms of eight to ten children with things like meal preparations and feedings, procedure learning (e.g., clean up, nap time, outside time, hand washing, etc.), speech and object recognition, potty time Read more and diaper changes, reading time, and observational play. In high school, I tutored kindergarten and first grade children in English (i.e., word and alphabet recognition, alphabet writing, reading), as well as a sixth grader (e.g., cursive writing, reading and comprehension, short passage reading, question comprehension, short writing assignments). I also tutored an eighth grader in Science and Math topics. When I wasn’t tutoring, I was assisting children with arts and crafts and snack preparations/setup. Additionally, I played basketball for three years, swam competitively for over eight, and ran track for three. When I swam, I often assisted my younger team members with swim strokes, turns, and starts. I also have knowledge of some football skills and rules, so I know fun ways to play and exercise. I completed and passed a background check for the LSU Preschool and have also passed the Checkr background check through the babysitting website called Nanno. Though I am not yet CPR certified, I completed a certified Junior Lifeguard program and will be attempting to receive a CPR certification this September, 2021. Childcare experiences aside, I am also pet friendly. I have an elderly dog who is almost 15 years old that I have cared for since I was five years old, have been around other dogs, like pit bulls, and have no problem being around a cat or two. I love quotes, so I’d like to end with one by American author, Dr. Seuss: “You're off to Great Places! Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting, So... get on your way!”

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.


  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Malasia doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Psychology, Journalism

Currently attending Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Malasia's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now