JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 23
  • Babysitter in Metairie, LA 70002

Meet Kennedy

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello, my name is Kennedy Word and I love working with children and infants. My love for adolescents runs so deep that I'm actually going to school just to spend the rest of my life with them. As a recent graduate of Xavier University of Louisiana, I graduated with a B.S. in Public Health with a double concentration in math and biology. Ultimately, I will become a OB/GYN professional. This profession is perfect for me because it gives me a chance to see babies and children consistently on a daily basis. Therefore, embedding my career-related experiences in babies and children is critical to my overall development as a physician and it's quite rewarding for me. In general, I have been caring for children since I was a freshman in high school. I watched a lot of different kinds of children in my Colorado neighborhood because I am military affiliated and Read more so soldiers always needed someone to care for their kids. Being able to care for those children gave me a sense of understanding for the various cultures, beliefs, and backgrounds as well as the importance of respect. This series of babysitting lasted me all the way up until I started college here in the Greater New Orleans Area. I was responsible for cooking, cleaning, ironing, and other housekeeping chores. I took the children to the park, shopping facilities, and even their extracurricular activities. I was, in a lot of ways, a big sister for the kids I babysat. I remained calm, humble, and understanding while interacting with them. A great bonus I found in my personality is that I am not easily upset or disoriented but rather patient and gentle. I love to have fun and enjoy the simple things each day has to offer. As a big kid myself, I am more than confident that I am a great fit for any parent. My experience with military personnel prepared me to work for countless culture sets. My educational background declares that I am educated and therefore, will act in a manner that promotes the child's greatest interest. Furthermore, my personal background gives me the interpersonal skills to communicate and work cohesively with your child. Last but not least, I am a lover and that is the best care anybody can give to a child.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file
  • Military Reserves Branch of Service: Army

    Military Reserves Branch of Service: Army

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Kennedy doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Xavier University of Louisiana

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Kennedy's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now