Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 13 years paid experience
  • Age 39
  • Babysitter in Cambridge, MA 02139

Meet Sandra

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Sandra Palhares and I grew up and currently reside in Cambridge, MA along with my soon to be 13 year-old daughter, Trinity. Cambridge is a great city where my daughter and I can experience many diversities. Besides all it that has to offer, the main benefit to Cambridge is the fact that my family also continues to live there. We are very close and support one another which allows me to work and have flexible hours. I have two wonderful parents, an amazing sister and brother, three little nephews who along with my daughter truly are the ones that run our family. My father was a musician, so my sister and I were exposed to the arts at a very young age. The loving environment my parents provided for me has helped shape my outgoing, caring, and creative personality. Outside of work, I of course love spending Read more quality time with my family, especially Trinity. We like to take walks visit libraries,museums, cooking and going to small towns and visiting antique shops. I also enjoy crafts such as making jewelry & painting along with decorating my house with my own artwork and self designed furniture. It's a great way to express myself and also makes my home unique and personal. I have been a nanny for about 11 years now and love being able to work with children on a more personal level. Unlike being a teacher, I not only interact with kids but I am involved in all aspects of their lives and not just education. I feel like I am able to learn more about the child as an individual and therefore can better impact their lives. I have been successful in this field because I am caring, nurturing, giving, and an outgoing person who communicates well with parents and focuses on the well-being of the child. For these past three years I have been a nanny for yet another wonderful family. They have two boys. I have also been with them since the birth of their youngest child. Over the years it has been a pleasure to be a part of their lives and be a part of their growth unfortunately, time has come for me to move on. I look forward to finding another compatible family in need of care in meeting their needs.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 2/16/17

Ratings & reviews

1.0 1.0 stars











Austin B.


We hired Sandra as a nanny for our then 6 month old baby. Just before Christmas, we gave her a bonus, even though she had only been with us for 6-7 weeks. That was the last time we saw her. She called out the Monday after, and then Tuesday, simply did NOT SHOW UP. Ever again. No call, no text, no warning whatsoever. She stopped responding to us, even though we have seen her sign on to since. My husband and I were both forced to take time off work to stay with our baby, during the exhausting, stressful period of hunting for a RELIABLE, trustworthy replacement.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$18-$22/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Multiple Sclerosis
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Premature Newborn
    • Spinal Cord Injury
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)
    • Wilbarger Brushing Protocol

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Sandra's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now