Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 31
  • Babysitter in Cambridge, MA 02138

Meet Amanda

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Hello! I’m Amanda. I graduated from Wesleyan University in 2010 and am completing my PhD in Cognitive Psychology from Northwestern University. Previously I worked as a social worker for a foster care society in New York City. There I learned about the different kinds of family dynamics that support healthy physical and emotional growth for children and their parents. I also learned strategies to interact with special needs children (specifically, ADD, oppositional-defiant, and learning disabilities). With kids I like to co-create spaces of imagination that reshape reality and encourage self-exploration. Other things I enjoy doing with kids include, listening to music, sing, and considering how different sounds make us think/feel differently, co-creating novel games, practicing Spanish, learning measurement via baking, craft activities (e.g., book, bracelet, box, bowl making). While I do foster space for play and imagination, I feel strongly about clear expectations and transparency with young ones so I Read more offer an understandable and firm container for their play. At the same time, I love to take direction from their needs and interests and tailor our activities to those. In my spare time I love cooking, practicing yoga, hugging Redwood trees, and adventuring. My availability is flexible for the afternoon hours and I am generally able to work up to 10-15 hours a week.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file
  • Northwestern University

    Northwestern University

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons and evenings
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Amanda doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$20/hr for the first child, $4 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Cognitive Psychology

Graduated Northwestern University 2018

References

Share Amanda's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now