Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 32
  • Babysitter in Newton Center, MA 02459

Meet Lauren

  • Comfortable with pets

I am currently looking for a summer nanny position, full or PT. I am available through the summer FT, and will have PT availability after the end of August. I am interested in either a summer only position, or a position that will continue PT (max. 35 hours) after the summer. I am a young professional with a BA degree in Psychology, a concentration on the developmental stages of childhood, and a minor in Cognitive Science. After graduating from college during the winter of 2008 I began working as an Account Manager at a local business, however that job was quite unfulfilling for me. I love working with children, it is my passion, so while I decided what to do with my future I spent many wonderful years as a nanny (After much discernment I decided to return to school and will be beginning a graduate program this September). I Read more changed career paths in December of 2009, and I worked with an awesome family in Melrose as a temporary nanny for six months. Since then I have worked with two other families who I also found here on SitterCity. I have worked with twins, infants, children with developmental and psychological conditions, etc. over the years. I have worked with up to five children at a time by myself, and I have worked with up to twelve children at a time with an additional helper. I enjoy cooking, and do not mind helping with preparing nutritious meals. I'm willing to help with light housekeeping, and to run errands. I grew up in Melrose, and currently live in Boston. I'm the oldest of four children, so I am very comfortable working in busy households. I have fifteen years of babysitting experience, and approximately nine years of full-time nanny experience. I love to read, take walks, and learn new things. I also foster animals in my spare time. I consider myself to be an honest, compassionate, fun, good-natured, and hard-working person. I have cared for children from the age of five days old to eighteen years old. There are things that I absolutely love about working with all age groups! Some of my favorite activities to do with the children I sit for (dependant upon age-appropriateness, of course) include; story-time, dress-up/imaginative play, cooking, baking, nature walks, visits to park and libraries, kick-ball, basketball etc. Please feel free to message me with an introduction to your family, and any questions, concerns, etc. Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired. Last completed on 09/22/2015.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 09/19/2015.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired. Last completed on 09/30/2015.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/16/15

Ratings & reviews

2.3 2.3 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

2

Navjot S.

6/10/2015

We were looking for a nanny on a short notice of time. I got an initial message from her requesting the job. However I sent several messages after that. But I never got a response on time. And the final message i sent asking her to meet us, i never got a reply back. She left the conversation open handed. I would advise her to give more consideration to others as well and respond back on time.

Nancy C.

4/29/2012

I hired Lauren 3 weeks in advance. The weekend before she was to start she hadn't contacted me. I attempted all avenues to get a hold of her. It is now Monday, I'm in the midst of a move, and no nanny showed. She took a position in the interim and I can only imagine she decided to stay with the other family and left us is a huge rut. I'm extremely disappointed in her. Lauren interviewed very well, but I woud say she is not reliable in any sense of the word. Reliability and communication are key and she carries none of these traits.

Emily D.

8/10/2010

Lauren responded within hours of my posting for emergency (next-day!) sitting for my 7 year old daughter. She arrived the next day right on time. She was friendly, responsible, calm and fun. She helped my daughter label and pack all of her stuff for sleep-away camp and even took her out to buy mini containers for her shampoo, etc. She made her lunch and cleaned all the dishes. It was a relief to have found her, my daughter loved her, and it was fantastic to get home and have the camp gear all set. Thanks Lauren!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$22/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy

Education

Psychology/Cognitive Science

University of Massachusetts - Boston

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Lauren's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now