JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 22
  • Babysitter in West Springfield, MA 01089

Meet Bobbie

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

During my years throughout high school (freshman to junior year), I volunteered at the West Springfield Teen center, where I was the head staff member. While staffing those dance nights, it was my responsibility to make sure those children were safe at all times, and to make sure each individual child was picked up at the correct pick up time. I was also known as the "counselor" there, so any time there was any problems, I would be involved. During my junior year of high school, I wanted to do more. I went to my guidance counselor and asked her if I could work with the Special Education Department. Since my counselor knew that I have always had a strong passion for teaching, she set me up automatically. So as I reached my senior year, I was able to work in the Special Ed. Dept. While interning for the dept., Read more I worked in many skills of mine and theirs. After some time, I was offered early release, where I had the opportunity to leave one period early every day. I took the offer, but instead of leaving, I would go back to the dept., and help assist with gym class. As soon as I reached my end point of high school, I started to look into better jobs, jobs where I can be involved with what I really wanted to do. Therefore, I did some research, and found out there was a local summer camp looking for people like me. I have a strong passion when it comes to working with children, so I started working at Camp Centrum. Throughout the summers, we as in the counselors were paired up, and given up to 20 kids. Our responsibilities included, bringing them to their daily activities, over watch them at the public pools, creating activities and games for them, etc. In the beginning of camp, there was this little boy that came in with a severe eating disorder, where he would only eat a couple crackers for lunch. I had noticed he wasn't eating right, so I paid more attention to him, tried to see if there was anything I could do to help. While working with him, I had found out he has a lower level of autism. I kept working with him, talking with him, and making him feel more comfortable with where he is. After some time, he started eating regularly, full sandwiches, snacks, etc. Towards the end Of the camp, how mother thanked me and it couldn't make me feel any better. She then, asked me if I’d continue to see him throughout the school year to help him with his homework and social skills.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Bobbie doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$12-$15/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)
    • Wilbarger Brushing Protocol

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Bobbie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now