Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Baltimore, MD 21229

Meet Avis

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been a Nanny and Music teacher for over 15 years! I teach a variety of instruments- Saxophone, Recorder, Violin, Drums, among other instruments. I offer lessons! Last minute and temporary care is available. Looking for preferably one day (8-12hrs) or two days with similar hours. I love to do many different crafts and projects as well. If you need reliable and energetic care, with have found your Nanny! I look forward to hearing from interested families and I'd love for you to review my services as well. Kind Regards, Avis

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 07/27/2022

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 11/21/2015

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and late nights
  • Daytime care availability during summer months


  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 2/7/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Monique P.


Mrs. Avis is wonderful. After a bad experience with a sitter I hired here she gave me hope that there are some good, caring, responsible caregivers out there. My 8 month old took to her very well. We will definitely be keeping her on speed dial.

Nikki G.


Avis was FANTASTIC with my son. He didn't cry at all, even when I picked him up, which is when he usually cries! She really put my mind at ease, since this was short notice and I didn't have time to really get to know Avis. Whenever I texted her, she replied right away! My son seems like he had a great day. He's usually fussy on the day he goes to daycare, so I can really tell the difference in how his day went! I'm SO glad we were able to have Avis watch my youngest today!

Rose P.


Avis is fanastic! She watches my 2 boys (ages 3 and 15 mos) on occasion and they just love her! She is hands-on, patient, kind and provides discipline when needed. I'm so grateful we found her!

Miriam G.


Avis came to my wedding and helped to take care of a number of babies and toddlers when their parents needed a break or they needed to rest. She was amazing with my nephew who rarely warms up to people, and was incredibly competent in caring for the children. She came on time and knew exactly what to do-I would definitely recommend her!

Jacqueline G.


I am new to the area and nervous about new sitters for my children. Ms. Avis from the beginning always delivers a warm, loving, welcoming approach towards the parents. This was evident in her review responses, her profile, and in the communication I had with her. Unfortunately we were unable to go with Ms. Avis , but if we decide to go with a sitter in the future we would definitely consider her.

Maureen R.


I am very happy to have had Avis' help today. She took great care of my son, quickly learned what he liked and didn't like, and he was extremely cheerful when I got home. I highly recommend her. She arrived on time and was very pleasant and easy-going. I am grateful that she didn't mind my chaotic house, and all of the toys were put away when I got home.

Yasmin M.


We hired Avis to care for our 22 month old and 7 week old for our first date night since our daughter's birth. Avis was wonderful! She was prompt, flexible and put our minds at ease. When she arrived she jumped right in and calmed my daughter who was crying which allowed me to finish getting ready. When we got home our son was asleep and our daughter was laying comfortably in Avis' arms eating. We were extremely pleased. We plan to hire Avis again!

Sarah D.


Avis provides care to my two children periodically (ages 1 and 3). The children really enjoy their time with her. She is eager to get on the floor and engage them "on their level." She is patient and reliable. She is also very responsive via email and text. We enjoy having her come to our home.

Joseph H.


Avis watched my 23 month old and 6 month old sons for 11 hours today. She gave them great attention and energy -- when I got home, they were both in very good moods, and I could tell they had a fun day! She came early to make sure everything went smoothly -- she is very responsible, and I felt that my kids were in good hands with her. I would highly recommend her!

Michelle E.


Avis was available last minute to watch my daughter on a day when she had a fever and was not feeling well. My daughter LOVED Avis!! She played all day with her and they had a great time. I am very thankful for Avis' prompt reply and willingness to come on such a short notice. What a blessing to my family... -Michelle

Rachel F.


Avis was available for us on very short notice! She was on time and was great with our 7 month old. Our little girl is VERY active for only being 7 months old and Avis was great with her. They spent a very long 10 hours together and we couldn't have asked for anyone better! Avis, thank you for helping us out on such short notice, Lilly loved you and fell fast asleep tonight she was so tired from such a busy day!


Willing to care for 2 children per sitting


  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)



Attended Baltimore City Community College


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading

Share Avis's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now