JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Age 21
  • Babysitter in Bethesda, MD 20817

Meet Catharine

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been babysitting children since I was 11 years old. I have babysat children ranging from infancy to 16 years old. In addition to my babysitting experience, I worked as a dive coach at my local summer pool for the past 6 years. As a coach, I worked with kids ranging from 4 to 18 years old, I had to take many courses not only on coaching but on safety precautions as well, and I am CPR certified. For the past two summers, I have worked in the day-care center at the Equinox Bethesda gym where I'm responsible for 3 month olds to 12 years olds, and where sometimes there is up to 20 kids at a time (don't worry I have one other co-workers!). As a coach and as a day-care employee, I have had a lot of experience with stressful situations regarding the kids, and communicating with Read more their parents. also have experience working in a pre-school for two years, taken 3 years of a child development class in high school, and a fourth grade classroom as a teachers assistant with students who needed extra help with reading and writing. With all my experience, I have always loved working with kids, whether it is babysitting, working in a classroom, or coaching. A while back I decided I wanted to work with kids, older or younger, and be a teacher in some way. I am very into arts and crafts, going on adventures (going on a walk with a dog or going to a park if there's no pet), and being very active with the kids. I have always had a great time with kids because there is never a moment where the conversation is dull, and I love to listen to whatever they have to say. I am also good at my job because I understand that while I am there to have fun and be a friend, I am also there to make sure a child is playing safe and playing kindly/fairly (if there is more than one kid). I am kind, caring, fun, and outgoing, but when it comes down to it, I am not afraid to be strict in order to keep a child safe and to uphold any rules that the parents might tell me to enforce (like no TV past a certain time). If you have any additional questions for me feel free to ask, I've got plenty of experience with kids to answer them! :)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Catharine doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$30/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Religious Studies/Sociology

Currently attending University of Redlands

References

Additional services

  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Catharine's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now