Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Age 60
  • Babysitter in Frederick, MD 21701

Meet Patricia

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi everyone! Permit me to tell you something about myself, and why I am interested in sitting for your family. I have been looking after children for quite some time. While I have no children of my own, I did help raise my nieces and nephews, as well as a few other kids along the way. For the past four years, I have been sitting for a single mother who has one daughter. The daughter now spends more time with friends and is very active outside of the home. Since my services are requires less often, I am now able to accept other positions. My approach to being a caregiver is simple. A good caregiver has to have a good partnership with the parent(s). Consistency is important; my role is to support the parents by following their lead and/or guidelines. I believe children deserve to be shown courtesy and respect. Read more Developing respect with a child requires showing a genuine interest in their opinions and perspectives. I do prefer to watch the child(ren) in their home, since it is the center of their world. I thoroughly enjoy spending time with children. I am still close to my nieces and nephews, and I volunteer with our local Brownie (Girl Scout) Troop. At 60 years of age, I have slowed down some; however, I still love to play all kinds of games and do crafts. I like to cook and bake; assisting in meal preparation is not a problem. I am fine helping with light housework. I am good at helping with homework, but if it is math I am somewhat lost above the level of algebra. Additionally, I am fond of all types of animals and would be happy being a temporary care giver to them as well. My professional career consisted of several upper management jobs, but the last position I held before retiring, was as a medical assistant. That education and training has served me well more than once while watching children. Any parent knows that childhood is bound to have an occasional bloody nose, skinned knee. Remaining calm and confident important, as is having the knowledge and ability to act quickly and decisively. I am fairly flexible in availability, and I have my own transportation. Hopefully, I have said something to make you want to consider my services. Thank you for your interest and I hope to hear from you soon!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Patricia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$20/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Medical Assisting

Frederick Community College

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Social studies

Share Patricia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now