Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Hyattsville, MD 20783
  • 14 miles, will travel 25 mi

Meet Veronica

  • Speaks Sign Language
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Veronica; however, most people call me Vern. I am 25 years old and I just graduated from the University of Maryland in May. Currently, I have an internship with the National Park Service; however, I'm still interested in picking up extra work once a week or on the weekends. I have been babysitting for over six years. I first started babysitting when I was 19 as a mother's helper. The family consisted of three children, ages 1, 2, and 4. I cared for the children while the mother went grocery shopping, ran other errands, and when the parents had a date night. I oversaw play time, feed the children dinner, and put them to bed. In Summer 2016, I became a full time nanny for a different family, also with three children ages 6, 7, and 8. I worked 40 hours a week and focused on Read more keeping the children entertained with fun activities during the summer months instead of letting them spend too much time in front of the TV. Starting in the Fall of 2017, I took two new childcare jobs with three different families. In the morning, I cared for four children, ages 4, 7, 7, and 11, as they prepared for school then took them to the nearby bus stop. In the afternoon, I picked up three children from school, ages 5, 7, and 10, and stayed with them until their parent arrived. At times, I would watched extra children in the afternoon up to a total of 8 children. In the Fall of 2018, I moved to Maryland to start Graduate School and took up a morning childcare job with a family consisting of one child, age 10. I am very patience, energetic person. I never run out of activities for children to partake in and I enjoy playing along with them. I'm never afraid to get dirty and I encourage children to play outside as much as possible. There is so much to do outdoors that you simply can't do inside. I enjoy helping children learn, so homework help is something that comes easy to me. I love music and video games, but my heart truly belongs to reading. I enjoy reading to children. Nothing makes me happier then watching them get excited about books. Being a nanny is something I really enjoy. Children are so much fun and being able to help them learn and experience the world helps me grow as a person myself. I am CPR certified for infants, children, and adults as well as first aid certified.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 08/07/2015

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 3/1/21

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Sheila G.


Veronica is fantastic. I cannot speak highly enough of her. She is very professional and also great fun for my son.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Graduated University of Maryland - College Park 2020


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Sign Language

Share Veronica's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now