Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 53
  • Babysitter in Parkville, MD 21234

Meet Susan

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi my name is Susan. I am the proud mom of two grown children. My son, 22, is currently in Law School, and my daughter, 20 is a College student and a nanny. I started out as a Pre-K teacher when I was 18 and in College studying Early Childhood/Psychology. From there I worked at the YMCA summer camp as a camp counselor and life guard. From there I worked for Open Door. When my children were in elementary school, I got a job in their cafeteria so I could be with them at times during the day and be home when they were home and off when they were off. Yes I was a lunch lady :} In that same cafeteria there was a before and after care program and once the Director got to know me, she offered me a job and allowed my children to stay with Read more me during those times. Once the Principal saw me and got to know me, she offered me a job working in the Kindergarten room with a special needs child, and that was it, I was hooked. I continued in that same school, being pulled even to substitute teach at times for any of the teachers that needed it. Once my children moved to Middle School, the Principal of that school asked if I would like to work in their Autism Program. I accepted and WOW, what a wonderful experience. My life changed so much after working with that group of children. All of my years of working with all ages and all abilities, I couldn't have been more grateful. Some how I was always in the right place at the right time. Chances of a lifetime. If I sound like I could fit into your child/children's lives, I would love the opportunity to get to know them and your family

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available mornings and afternoons
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Susan doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$9-$10/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Susan's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now