JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 19 years paid experience
  • Age 31
  • Babysitter in Silver Spring, MD 20910

Meet Laurie

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been babysitting since I was 13 years old, which is about 19 years of experience. I've always loved being able to be my goofy, sensitive, playful self, without judgment. I find that it is easy for me to connect on that level and at a heart level with children as well, to nurture healthy social/emotional and self-reliability development. I also love teaching about the world around them to encourage curiosity and participation/interaction. Overall I hope to be the type of presence in a child's life that role models have been for me. In the past I have worked at a child development center, working with around 11-20 (2-3 year old) children and 3-5 co-workers in the classroom. It was the same place I had attended briefly as a child and I had a lot of great (and difficult) memories there. When I returned to work there I absolutely Read more LOVED it and found it difficult to leave. For the year I was there, I had built deep relationships with the children and their families in my classroom and continue to babysit children from both school years. In terms of discipline, I detest corporal punishment and do not believe in that as an option. I reported a former employee at the daycare center for child abuse, which was extremely difficult. I believe talking with children to explain morals and help them understand and personalize the ideas is the most effective way to help guide children in a healthy direction. My interests are outdoor activities (hiking, camping/backpacking, walking, biking, exploring, climbing trees, building snow forts, gardening), arts (crafts, photography, pottery, drawing, knitting, digital art), sports (mainly soccer), and playing games (board, card, outdoor games, building elaborate train sets, "playing pretend,"), baking and learning how to cook. I am also interested in human nature (alternative wellness, psychology, sociology, anthropology, philosophy/spiritual philosophy), and music (djembe drums, piano, learning guitar, music theory, music production). + I have CPR, First Aid, and Medicine Administration Training Certification, and drive my own 4 door car. + Long term goals: In February 2017, I graduated from a massage therapy school, and briefly worked from home as a therapeutic practitioner. I would like to continue working to support myself in attending the coursework for additional specializations in bodywork and trauma recovery and care. I also hope to continue learning how to play and make music. Squee! Thank you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Nubia H.

4/12/2019

Laurie has been a great addition to our family circle and genuinely cares for the kids!

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Attended

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading

Share Laurie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now