JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Babysitter in Dover Foxcroft, ME 04426

Meet Merrilee

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have always enjoyed working with children. My first babysitting job was to take my neighbors son to Grand Central Park when I was 14. Ever since then I have been assisting families with meal prep, light housekeeping and childcare. I received my BA in Psychology and while doing so worked as a nanny with one family for three years. My career expanded to a Domestic Violence shelter where I became the Residential and Non Residential Childcare Coordinator. It brought me immense joy to facilitate play and imagination to little ones while they healed from trauma. I have cared for children ranging in ages of 8 months to 8 years old. I worked with some teens while I was a Childcare Coordinator. Part of my work while I was an Americorps VISTA working on food access in a rural county, was to facilitate the involvement of children with the local Read more food cupboard, as well as spark their interest in garden grown vegetables and food source. Since then I have worked with various families and offered small workshops at farmers markets during my time as the owner of a jewelry business a few years ago. I have taught creative classes to a homeschooled teen during which time she created her own curriculum for an independent art class- I helped her to work with unusual materials to create costumes, head pieces, sculptural mobiles and jewelry. At the end of our time together the "final" was for her to direct a photoshoot with a 30 year old model and a 12 year old model and to collaborate with a photographer. Much of the inherent work in our class was to find patience, practice persistence and to cultivate self awareness and female empowerment. No matter what age a young person is, I believe in cultivating spirit, vulnerability, courage and learning through play/play-like activities. I strongly believe in working with a child's innate interests and skill levels while providing stability, reliability and safety. Each child has a story to express and I believe in promoting that sharing.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, evenings and late nights
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability
  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Open (all day, everyday)
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 3/18/19

Ratings & reviews

Merrilee doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Autism
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Psychology

SUNY College at New Paltz

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Proofreading
    • Essay writing

Share Merrilee's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now