Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Portland, ME 04103

Meet Elly

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I'm a children's movement teacher with fewer gigs in the summertime and am looking to offer vibrant, social, safe, creative care for one extra child (age 6 months-6 years) at a time in our home (with my gentle/social 2-year old son as a playmate). This is a great opportunity for parents who don't need care every day but would like to schedule some "me-time" or work time throughout the summer and know that their child is in a nurturing home setting with lots of attention and play. Along with being a mother, I've worked with children in many capacities (teaching, nannying, volunteering) for 15 years. During the school year, I teach at The Portland Ballet, Reiche After-School Programs, La Petite Ecole enrichment, and I lead summer programming at Waynflete Flyers Summer Camps in late July. I'm available 6:30AM-1:30 PM Mon-Sat in June and the first 2 weeks of July. I Read more would consider longer hours depending on your child's nap habits and we do have an extra room with a pack and play that we no longer use. After my kids' yoga camp at Waynflete, I'll have more availability through August. I am open to one-time care or parents who want to book several days in a row or once a week, etc! We don't do screen time and spend lots of time outside. We have a lovely, flower-filled back yard with a sandbox and some interesting bugs. We take lots of walks to play at the Longfellow Elementary School playground, the library on Stevens Ave, Baxter Woods and Capisic Pond. I am happy to travel further for morning adventures if a car seat is provided. We love going to the beach, Mackworth Island, Deering Oaks splash pad, etc. Our days include sand, dirt, paint, chalk, bubbles and "cooking." Reading, music and movement are woven into our daily routines. Our toys are simple, without blinking lights and lots of noises. Blocks, balls, and cardboard boxes provide engaging, imagination-rich play. I provide snacks and lunch (organic, primarily local, and with the options to customize to any food allergies or V/Veg/GF preferences. My child--and yours--are involved in the preparation of meals and we eat together. We love taking our food outside for picnics. I am comfortable with all types of diapering and will provide support if your child is in a potty-training stage.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/16/20

Ratings & reviews

Elly doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 1 child per sitting

$12-$15/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Dance/International Studies

Graduated University of Iowa 2005

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • English
    • Social studies

Share Elly's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now