JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Babysitter in Portland, ME 04103

Meet Abigail

  • Speaks Spanish and Swahili
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I just graduated from college with a B.A. in sociology and anthropology. Within sociology, I focused primarily on family and personal development. Within anthropology, I focused primarily on East African cultural and language studies. I am proficient in my understanding of Swahili and am currently working on becoming more fluent. I beleive that it is very important for everyone to learn about, experience, and/or be exposed to other cultures and peoples in a way that promotes respect and education, as it is a crucial aspect to personal and societal development.  I have 11 years of experience working with children. I have a very large family and am the oldest of my 2 siblings and many of my cousins so I have been taking care of small children since I was about 8 and officially since I was 11. I am 5 years older than my sister and 9 years older than Read more my brother so I provided much of their childcare while my parents worked. My brother and an 8 year old girl that I worked with are both on the autism spectrum so I have a bit of experience working with children in that area of special needs. I have babysat for many families, mostly throughout middle and high school. I have been a live in nanny for two different families, a camp counselor for a few different camps, and a mentor to many children. I volunteered at a summer camp and orphanage in Kakamega Kenya last summer, where I taught music and health classes, and was in charge of the youngest group of kids because I can speak and understand a little Swahili and I connect the most with younger children. I absolutely love working with babies and have a considerable amount of experience caring for infants and toddlers and younger children. As far as a caregiving philosophy goes I believe that spending quality time outdoors and being relatively active are increibly important for everyone but especially children. While I have no problem with some exposure to it, I believe that electronic entertainment should be limited and monitored and that it should be balanced with other more engaging and social activities. While I love to watch movies, I think that more engaging activities help children develop better social and problem solving skills much more quickly than any T.V. program or video game can. I love to play with children and I have found that engaging in their play activities with them is the best and most fun way to make them feel like you are truly interested in them and what they are doing, while providing them with a positive inluence so that they can make healthy choices about how they should be spending their time.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/3/15

Ratings & reviews

Abigail doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$20/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Mental Illness
    • Premature Newborn
    • Administering Medication
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Sociology/Anthropology

Graduated Ohio Wesleyan University 2012

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Abigail's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now