Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Kalamazoo, MI 49009

Meet Eleri

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been a nanny and babysitter for years. Growing up, I was a babysitter for the children in the neighborhood. Once I reached high school, I started nannying in the summer. I travelled with a family to Europe on vacation with the two parents and two little girls. When we took our first trip, the girls were aged nine months and two years. My last trip with them was last year when they were aged four and six years. I am good at my job because I take the time to understand the children’s wants and needs. I am patient and kind with them because I think sometimes all they need is someone to listen. When children are upset, it can be easy for their caregivers, whether that be a parent, grandparent, babysitter, or nanny, to also get upset. I find it extremely important to take a step back Read more to understand how the child is feeling and to allow the children a moment to express their emotions. I am currently and have previously been enrolled in classes that expand my understanding of children’s thoughts and feelings. Taking courses like this only furthers my ability to empathize with and understand children, which in turn improves the quality of my responses to them. I became a caregiver because I have a passion for working with children. I am currently enrolled at the University of Florida, and I am earning my bachelor’s degree in psychology with an emphasis on behavior analysis. I currently plan to work as a child life specialist so that I can continue to work with children. I would like to continue gaining experience working with children, not only because it may help me in the future, but because working with children is something that I love to do. I'm currently looking for a job for the summer.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/7/20

Ratings & reviews

Eleri doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$15/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Muscular Dystrophy
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Psychology

Currently attending University of Florida

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English

Share Eleri's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now