JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 35
  • Babysitter in Saint Louis, MO 63143

Meet Katie

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

A little bit about me: As a teenager, I became basically the primary caretaker for my three younger brothers, so I know how to run a house :) At the same time, I nannied for my very big, Irish-Catholic family, as the oldest cousin on both sides. I think if any of my close friends were to describe me they would say: kind/compassionate, funny, and strong. So, in other words, I will get all of the heavy lifting done, and still form amazing relationships with you and your family (and fur family) I’ve just always been great with children, probably from growing up in a big family. I can reach them on their level, using my imagination, and play, be genuine, have a good sense of humor, and encourage them to express their feelings if they need to. I take them seriously. They’re people too! My style is to build Read more a relationship first, earn trust, in order to develop good behavior patterns. You will see below where I received this training. I worked for Boys Hope Girls Hope briefly. The children who lived in the academic homes were from very difficult backgrounds and had great challenges to overcome in order to reach their academic goals. I took many counseling training courses for children and adolescents, such as parenting with love and logic, how to look for difficult emotions and how to encourage good behavior by forming a relationship first instead of leading with a punishment Finally, I worked as a parent aide for a psychiatrist who worked with DFS. I supervised visits between children in foster care and their parents, and provided parental coaching. I covered topics such as nutrition, behavior modification andcommunication. I am available Full-time or Part-time, any day of the week between 7am-10pm. No overnights, sorry. I do have experience working with special needs children and adults. I have a car and can transport children and errands. I am not First Aid and CPR certified yet, but I am going to be soon. Please give me a call! My cell is 314-320-9299.I would love to grab coffee or tea and discuss if it is a good fit! Thank you, Katie Spearing

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Katie doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Multiple Sclerosis
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Repositioning
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Journalism

Graduated University of Missouri - Columbia 2006

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Katie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now