JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Shawna K.

Babysitter in Carrboro, NC 27510.

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Carrboro, NC

  • Age 29
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Rating Average rating of 5 (2 reviews)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
Terrific sitter!

Shawna has been a HUGE help this past month watching Holly (our four month old) on short notice on multiple occa...

- Kelly W.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Shawna’s Bio

Hi! My name is Shawna.  I recently moved from Boston, MA. to Chapel Hill, NC, in pursuit of becoming a Family Nurse Practitioner, to which I am currently enrolled in the program at UNC. I work on an acute inpatient dialysis unit as a Registered Nurse at UNC Hospital at Chapel Hill per diem, but am looking for a second job in as a nanny. (I have been a registered nurse for 4 years, noteworthy- one nursing position I have had has been on an inpatient adolescent psychiatric unit, working with children/adolescents aged 12-18) In Boston I was active in my church's Children's Ministry where I would create interactive projects/programs for kids age 2-12, and provide child care to children ages 0-2. I have had several nannying positions over the past 10 years, and am looking to help a family that may want quality, reliable care to their young ones. I have a car, and am amenable to traveling 20 miles from my address. Please connect with me if you are interested, I appreciate your time, and look forward to meeting you and your kids :)


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Seizures
  • Visual Impairment

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Shawna really hit it off with our almost-three son. He kept talking about her after only her first visit.

- Irene & Ryan N.

Provider's Response

Ryan thank you so much for this comment. I didn't notice it until now! I hope your doing you, Irene, and Darwin are doing well in your new home!

Terrific sitter!

Shawna has been a HUGE help this past month watching Holly (our four month old) on short notice on multiple occasions because of work deadlines (even around the Thanksgiving holiday!). She is very sweet but capable and genuinely shows enthusiasm for time with Holly. She also asks about our preferences with when and how to give Holly bottles and how to spend her time with her (specific activities, etc.). We have two dogs who also think that Shawna is here just to visit them. By the end of her visit, I usually find the dogs and Holly all huddled around Shawna, a good sign of character : ) Overall, I highly recommend Shawna as a sitter!


- Kelly W.


Kelsey H. is a reference for Shawna K. Relationship: Friend
Joyce P. is a reference for Shawna K. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Shawna K.
Shawna K.
Carrboro, NC 27510

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now