JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Age 19
  • Babysitter in Charlotte, NC 28226

Meet Abby

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I have been babysitting since I was twelve years old. I have babysat for ages ranging from 3 months old to 12 years old. I have also created a "summer camp" in my neighborhood when I was in high school and had some of the neighborhood kids come over every day from the morning through the afternoon to do various activities, play games, and make crafts. I am currently a student at Appalachian State University studying Political Science with a minor in Criminal Justice. While it will be my second year attending a four year university in the fall of 2018, I will be classified as a senior due to the college credits I earned in my junior and senior year of high school through community college dual enrollment. I am passionate about my schoolwork and my future career. I don't have an exact career in mind, as I expect Read more things to change and want to remain flexible, but I do want to remain in the political/law sphere advocating for human rights and assuring that everyone has access to quality healthcare. I have Type 1 Diabetes, an auto-immune disease that is not caused by diet or exercise, and manage it well. I also advocate for greater diabetes awareness and education. During the summer of 2017, I cycled across the country with my mom and 19 other athletes living with Type 1 Diabetes. Along the way, we made many stops visiting the various communities and sharing resources. If you'd like to learn more about our trip, visit bikebeyond.org. With this in mind, I am happy and feel comfortable caring for children with chronic illnesses - especially Type 1 Diabetes. I have previously babysat for a child with Type 1 Diabetes and was able to care for her blood sugars while her parents enjoyed a night out for the first time in at least a year.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Abby doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$15/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Diabetes
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Administering Medication
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Political Science

Currently attending Appalachian State University

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Abby's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now