Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in East Orange, NJ 07018
  • 2 miles, will travel 30 mi

Meet Brittany

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Most children can't wait to get out of school to go home and play games or play outside with their friends. Me on the other hand, I couldn't wait to go home and help my grandmother with the children she was babysitting. At the age of 5 my grandmother started showing me how to care for infants, toddlers, and children. At the age of 10, my grandmother and parents trusted me to watch the kids without supervision. By the time I was 11, parents started paying me to watch their kids after I got home from school and when school was out for the summer. I developed close relationships with all the children I babysat and their parents. . I helped my grandmother baby sit every afternoon and summer for six years until she started experiencing Alzheimers symptoms. I still to this day keep in contact with the children I Read more babysat. Sometimes on the weekend I pick them up and spend the day with them. See, money wasn't important to me. It was the passion of caring for children, being a positive influence on them, and just being there for them when they need someone. My grandmother always told me that I will have a career in caring for children and when the time come I will be a wonderful mother. She suggested that I dedicate my time after school and my summer to a daycare. So I did. The summer of 2011 I became a daycare teacher for Four N's Daycare In Newark, Nj. I had a class of children from the ages of three and four in the morning and during their nap time in the afternoon, I cared for the infants in the nursery room. Over the course of three months I developed a relationship with the kids. When it was time for me to start my senior year in high school, the children were sad I was leaving and the owners of the daycare asked me to come back after school hours. But, I decided to just finish my last year in high school with my friends. When I graduated from high school I got a job working as a clerk on the parkway. Three months later my best friend found out she was going to be a mother, a single mother. When the baby was born, I helped my friend care for her and raise her. My god daughter is now two and when someone asks her where her mom is, she points to my best friend and me. My passion for caring for children became stronger when God blessed me with a beautiful god daughter.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Brittany doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$25/hr for the first child, $8 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Attended Ocean County College

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Brittany's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now