Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in East Orange, NJ 07017

Meet Merline

  • Speaks French
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Being the eldest of 3 children in a family, I took care of children since a very young age. With over a decade of years of experience; I worked with kids from 0 to 12+, doing potty training, teaching them to speak, to walk, to sit, to write and manners early. I love what I do, I think about the kids as a mom would. Being on top of their calendars, thinking ahead for them, limiting screen time as needed, going outside more, arranging playdates, subscribe them to activities, arranging hair cuts, doctor's appointments, do their homework or just a new pair of shoes or coat. I cook, I am experienced with most of the common allergies as meat, gluten, dairy free food. I learn fast, speak French and some Spanish. I am a very neat person ready to be a right hand for you. I have a car, I Read more drive golf carts. I'm a US citizen, I can fly with you to secondary houses if needed. I am not a Mary Poppins, but I guarantee change or smooth flow since the 1st week I walk in!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Completed Enhanced Background Check Badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Completed 08/11/2022. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Completed Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Completed 08/08/2022. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/23/22

Ratings & reviews

4.0 4.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

0

1

0

0

0

Nathalie D.

5/28/2013

Merline Volcy has been with our family for about 10 months. She has joined us in August 2012 to take care on a full-time live-in basis our twin girls, who were 1.5yrs at the time. Merline has been a fantastic nanny. From the beginning, Merline was keen on discussing what we wanted, how we wanted it and she was taking notes! Merline’s responsibilities included mostly taking care of our girls, which involved cooking healthy meals, bringing them to the playground on a daily basis, attending any programs I had the girls signed-up (at the local library), setting up playdates, laundry and cleaning the girls’ room and bathroom. However, Merline also took over the overall housekeeping of our house to the point that our kitchen is always sparkling clean. Merline has also been asked to cook for us (not just for the girls) and as an avid cook, she has tried out new recipes from magazines or the web and we sincerely appreciated coming back home late knowing that dinner was ready. She was also key to communicate any issues/problem with the handyman, the plumber, the landscapers or the cleaning ladies. Merline has consistently asked for feedback during her stay with us and she was always eager to learn what we like and what we would like for her to do differently. Most importantly, Merline has supported our requests and I’m happy to say that she has successfully potty trained the girls in 4 months (the girls just turned 2 at that time)! She has taught them their numbers (they can count till 10 and recognize the numbers) and recognize their letters. She has also spent time with them drawing, painting and writing their first letters (at 2.5, they can write “0”, “a” and “b” – which is unusual for twin girls at this age). Merline has never looked at the hours and never made us feel bad for coming late. Both my husband and I work long hours in the city and it’s not always possible to come by 7pm or to even call ahead of time to say that we will be late. Merline was never worried, if she didn’t see one of us by 7pm, she would proceed giving the bath to the girls, as we have asked her to. Finally, Merline has never been late or sick that she would miss work. In 10 months, she has asked for ½ day as she had a scheduled doctor appointment (scheduled prior to joining our family) and she has never missed work. After about 10 months, it’s with sadness that we needed to go our separate ways as we are in need of someone who will be comfortable driving the girls to more programs further away (Merline is a new driver and as such didn’t want to put the girls at risk). Our loss could be your gain. Should you want any more information, please feel free to contact me. Nathalie & Neelson

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$30-$50/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Associate

Attended Rockland Community College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • French

Share Merline's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now