JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 53
  • Babysitter in Trenton, NJ 08610

Meet Dana

  • Certified Nursing Assistant
  • Special Education Certification
  • Speaks Sign Language
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Many families often struggle with their children's morning and afternoon schedules, and are unable to find a candidate who will provide transportation to and from these activities. I'm now offering transportation only services to families faced with this scenario. Rates vary depending upon the location, mileage and frequency needed. Hiring someone to care for your family and home is a very important decision. All family members must feel comfortable and confident that this person is the right candidate and will ensure that each family member feels safe and comfortable with the new sitter. It shouldn't take long for family members to warm up to the idea of me being their new sitter. My personality is warm, receptive and kind. I find this career choice to be very rewarding, much like a teacher in an elementary position. I enjoy learning new things and passing that knowledge on, in a way that Read more is fun, yet educational.     I can offer your family a secure background check, a Valid NJ DL, Proof of insurance, reliability, safe transportation and can safely operate a motor vehicle in any type of weather scenario. I feel I have much to offer in regards to families with special needs, I  have a background with children with Autism Spectrum. In addition, I am familiar with American sign language for families with non-verbal children. I am a member of a community dedicated to the firm commitment, for equality for children with social disadvantages. I encourage unity among siblings, Although, I realize that this is not always possible. In my past experience, working with multiple children, at one time can be a very rewarding time. During these time, I monitor the children to ensure that each sibling understands the object of the game chosen, and that win or lose; We are building on our ability to gracefully accept whatever outcome, while strengthening our inner core strengths & character. I will maintain a safe environment for your home and children, in a manner that is dignified, respectful, while promoting kindness, love and understanding.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check results did not meet requirements for badge, so you should contact the caregiver directly to see the results. What does this background check cover?

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

2.5 2.5 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

0

1

0

0

1

Charles W.

3/19/2016

After a phone conversastion to introduce myself and discuss my babysitting needs I ask all potential babysitters to come to my house to have a paid observation my son's bedtime routine. We agreed on the hourly rate and set an observation date. First observation: Dana emailed me 2 hours before the scheduled time stating, "I am unable to get out to your home this evening to monitor you and Michael. I have out of town guests with me, and plans are unraveling rapidly.". Not sure why the plans of out of town guests would be impacting our prearranged appointment but I let it slide. Second observation: 15 minutes after our scheduled meeting time I texted Dana asking if she was having trouble finding my house. Her response, "No. Im on 295 with flat. Low battery. Sorry !". Life happens but a responsible person would've called or notified me that they were going to be delayed or unable to meet because of car troubles. After 2 failures to appear, I determined it was prudent to not hire Dana to sit for my son.

Sarah L.

9/9/2013

I interviewed Dana for the job and she seemed really capable and organized. She also had her references listed and they all were good. We ended up offering the job to someone else, but she was a front runner and it was a tough decision.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$10-$20/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Seizures
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Spinal Cord Injury
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

AA in Business Foundations

Graduated University of Phoenix 2017

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Sign Language

Share Dana's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now