Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 48
  • Babysitter in Jersey City, NJ 07306

Meet Melinda

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets

Most recently, The last few years, I worked for a well known child care company as a toddler teacher, I am in school working on my CDA, Before I've had the opportunity to work in several child day care schools over the years. I recently obtained a college degree from Empire state university majoring in Art with a concentration in child development. I am a mother of a wonderfully talented student. I have training in CPR and first aid. I worked in a fortune 500 company, a private childcare, a religious day care and a public school day care facility. I also have worked as a fitness instructor teaching " kid fit" to children 9 and under. I believe in teaching children through play and experience to make learning fun! Trips to the park, museums, cultural and festive arts and crafts and library visits!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 08/14/2015.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/1/18

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Ryan D.

10/9/2017

We've met Melinda twice - once to interview, and then once to actually watch our child. Both times she asked lots of good questions to better help understand our toddler, showed a great attention to detail, and was very attentive to our child. We were able to go out for nearly an entire day, and didn't have to worry about our baby, who was in bed at the proper time. When we got home we were pleasantly surprised by lots of notes about what they did that day, meals, etc. Melinda's background from a known child care center was very appealing, and we were happy with the results.

Liza G.

6/6/2015

Melinda watched my two very picky cats for a week. She sent me pictures (it's amazing they typically hide from pet sitters) and left me notes on how they did during the week. I will definitely be using her again. Liza

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$35/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Early childhood development / Art

Graduated SUNY Empire State College 2013

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Melinda's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now