JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 25
  • Babysitter in Montclair, NJ 07042

Meet Sarah

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I love the honest questions and remarks that come out of a Childs mouth, revealing their curiosity and enthusiasm. As the oldest girl in a family of five kids (twin sisters much younger than myself, a younger brother and an older brother who acted younger) and busy working parents, I learned to be comfortable with responsibility from a young age. I took on the care of my baby sisters, learned to keep a clean house and eventually to cook meals healthier than pouring milk into a cereal bowl. Because my siblings and I were homeschooled, the majority of our learning was through exploring and creating. additionally,We learned spontaneous self discipline and independence. So, when I began studying child development I found that I agree with the Montessori Method that growth and learning is best achieved through an environment that meets the child’s individual needs, including freedom to explore and organize Read more their space. I believe the role of the educator or caregiver is to provide physical and mental safety as well as opportunities for them to flourish. When I joined the workforce I was drawn to trainer positions as studying psychology and implementing methods to my teaching style made me an effective trainer. I began training as a Certified Fine Dining Server Trainer at Mohonk Mountain House in Upstate NY. Serving and training other servers at a resort known for its volume and high pressure environment provided me opportunities to practice multi-tasking, staying composed and managing my own stress levels. Through teaching I also learned to implement the hands-off method and guide with patience to allow them to figure out solutions, always using positive encouragement. These experiences primed me for becoming a patient and organized caregiver. I am naturally active and energetic and prefer playing with kids outside to being on screens inside. I enjoy traveling and have experience coming on family trips, I am organized and comfortable staying on top of a schedule to help the trip be more relaxing for everyone. I have experience being a live-in nanny for the week when parents leave town, babysitting evenings and after school, homework help, meals, housework, or home organizing. I have a flexible schedule and would like to keep that flexibility and work on a situation/need basis. Lastly, Safety is a priority. I’m CPR, First Aid, AED Defibillator Certified and have a clean driving record.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Sarah doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$18-$30/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Biotechnology and Psychology

Currently attending Salt Lake Community College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Sarah's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now