Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 21 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Albany, NY 12206

Meet Barbara

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am seeking a position in house management/ childcare which I have over twenty years of experience. I am a fun, reliable, highly responsible, efficient and creative mother of two children of my own, both successfully on their own now. I have worked as a nanny/house manager for private families, in-group childcare settings as well as an overnight baby nurse. Being a nanny/ mouse manager is my chosen profession and I love my career. I am extremely knowledgeable in all the different developmental transitions and know what to expect. That being said, I have learnt that each child handles transitions differently and I am able to respond appropriately in all circumstances. The main quality I have, in addition to knowledge and common sense is patience and love to help each child transition smoothly. I really enjoy being a part of a child's life. Watching them grow and playing a part Read more in their development is awesome and exciting to me! I am a very efficient house manager able to multitask and keep even the busiest of homes running stocked and efficiently. I am CPR and Heart Saver certified by the American Red Cross. I am certified by both the Westchester and Dutchess County Child Care Councils. My background check is available for your review. Although the children will always come first, I have no problem doing housework, laundry or taking care of pets. I am a college graduate and commuted and worked in New York City for over ten years. When I had my children, I decided to work in childcare. My real passion is being a nanny/ house manager. My extensive resume and numerous references are available upon request.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 10/18/2018

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 09/10/2019

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Expired on 12/04/2020

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 2/28/20

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Ivy P.


The best of the best! Barbara has provided excellent care to my children for 1.5 years as a part-time nanny and an occasional babysitter. My children adore her and she is SO easy to work with. She is a true professional with a sunny personality too. Don't wait! Contact her today!!!


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$40/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Diabetes
    • Hearing Loss
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Feeding Tube



Graduated SUNY at Binghamton 1990


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Barbara's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now