Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Astoria, NY 11103

Meet Julia

  • Comfortable with pets

I grew up in a rather large family, closer in age to my older brother than my two younger siblings. Though I know this does not qualify me for taking care of your children, per say, this was how I began knowing how to do so--by watching intently as my mother took care of my brother and sister. Starting at age 10, I helped in the 3-year-old room at my church once a month until I was 14, and gained a lot of knowledge about children at that age. In eighth grade, for two 10 hour days, I helped out my mom's coworker while her kids had school off due to snow; the kids were 10 and 5 at the time. I took them sledding and played with them as well as made them meals, and they told me I was the best babysitter they had ever had. It was Read more then I understood how great babysitting could be and have since had experience caring for children ages 1-13. I also have experience with pets and no allergies toward them whatsoever. I love children and keeping them entertained is always a fun challenge. in 2018, I graduated with honors from Florida State University with a BA in English, and I would be more than willing to help with any school work or tutoring, English-related or no, while taking care of your child!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 09/03/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Chuck A.

9/3/2021

Julie watched our kids for several date nights. She always showed up on time and was dependable. The kids had a blast with her, and even though we've since moved and live near grandparents who can watch them, they still ask "Is Julia going to come watch us sometime?" every once in a while. She made quite the impression! It should be noted that two of our kids are autistic (high functioning) and Julia did great with them, so she clearly has experience with special needs as well. Particularly impressive was a time my brother was visiting us from out of town with his two kids (a baby and a 2-year old). I wasn't very hopeful but reached out just in case to see if Julia would watch our four kids AND my brother's two kids so we could go to a play together. She took on the challenge enthusiastically, everything went great, and it was so special for us to be able to do that with my brother even though we both have kids.

Falon L.

9/28/2017

Julia cared for our two toddlers throughout the summer of 2017. Our girls loved Julia so much they would cry when she had to leave. Totally hands on and will engage with children unlike so many other sitters who will just sit on the couch staring into their phones. My girls had so much fun when Julia was around and I could tell Julia did too! Julia clearly has a big heart and a passion for children. I would not hesitate to hire her again.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$30/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

English

Graduated Florida State University 2018

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Julia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now