Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 36
  • Babysitter in Astoria, NY 11106

Meet Stephen

  • Special Education Certification
  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets

I am a qualified Special Education & Music teacher from Dublin, Ireland. I also have a background in social care, working in residential with at-risk young people between the ages of 8 and 18 years. For eight years I have worked in a secondary (middle/high) school, teaching music two children between 8 and 18 years old both on an individual and group basis, particularly focusing on music theory and composition. I have also worked as a special education teacher with children of the same age group, again both on an individual and group basis. Particularly in the last two years of my tenure, I undertook a central role in the Special Education department, developing individual pupil profiles for pupils presenting with special educational needs. I was actively involved in the cultivation of both areas of literacy and numeracy, as well as promoting positive behavior, independent life skills and hygiene. I Read more meticulously read all available psychological and medical reports, communicated with all relevant classroom teachers, and liaised closely with senior members of the Special Educational Needs team prior to profiling which informed subsequent planning. I also acted as home tutor to students who were unable to attend school for differing reasons such as refusal to attend due to anxiety, expulsion and serious health difficulties (I. B. S). Through this, I have tutored students in several subject areas such as history, geography, religious education, social, political and health education, English and rudimentary math. I am currently working

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 9/3/18

Ratings & reviews

Stephen doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$30-$100/hr for the first child, $15 for each additional child

  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
    • Cystic Fibrosis
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Dyslexia
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Fragile X Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Spinal Cord Injury
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Music

Graduated 2015

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Stephen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now