Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Age 27
  • Babysitter in Astoria, NY 11105

Meet Nicholas

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Nick Campanella and I'm currently living in Astoria, NY. I'm 26 years old, I have a Master's in Creative Writing, and I have a lifetime's worth of experience working with children on the spectrum. I have two younger brothers who are both on the spectrum. One is very high-functioning and the other is very low-functioning and non-verbal. On top of that, he has Downs Syndrome, a significant heart defect, and a seizure disorder that requires regular administering of multiple medications. For most, it's a lot to handle, but for me, it's been my life. I thoroughly enjoy helping my brother whenever I can. My parents trust me completely with him. I've picked him up from school, spent the day watching him play the same video on his iPad for hours at a time, I cook for him and get him to eat despite being the pickiest eater Read more alive, and I can take him to the bathroom and bathe him. My brother, Peter, is essentially a giant, 24-year-old infant, but I love him and I would show that same love for your child. My youngest brother, like I mentioned, is higher functioning, in college, and can take care of himself, but he has no friends and finds social interactions awkward and anxiety-inducing. Often-times, he'll have a friend over and leave the room while his friend sits around wondering what just happened. He's a great kid and I also make a point of spending time with him whenever I can. I learned to be extremely patient, understanding, and empathetic regarding his social issues. If he doesn't want to go out, I don't take it personally; if he has a fit, I calm him down and remind him everything's okay. I also have experience outside of my immediate family. I worked as a substitute teacher in Levittown Public Schools and often worked in ABA classrooms. The students had a wide range of issues. Some were non-verbal, others were high-functioning, but not quite high enough for a "normal" classroom environment, and others simply had health problems who needed round-the-clock attention. I loved this work and experienced first hand what it must have been like to work with my own brothers.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Nicholas doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 1 child per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Creative Writing

Graduated CUNY Queens College 2017

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Nicholas's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now