JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 29
  • Babysitter in Bronx, NY 10453

Meet Travis

  • Comfortable with pets

I have been working with children ever since I was a child myself. My mother started an In-home daycare when I was 4. Very early it was my responsibility to help watch after them, play games, and help serve meals. As soon as I was able I was fingerprinted by the NYS health department so I could work with my mother in a greater capacity. At one point It was my responsibility to conduct the day to day operations of the daycare as my mothers' health left her bed-bound for sometime. I also am an Uncle to at least 7 nieces and nephews, as well as one of the older cousins so I was often left babysitting. I became an In-house nanny for one of my sisters and her two daughters. I held that position for 2.5 years until both children were of proper school age. My responsibilities were to Read more teach and maintain proper hygiene and cleaning skills for the home and there bodies. Introduce them to school concepts so they could transition. Teach them to read, write and preform basic math skills. Provide 2 to 3 nutritious meals as well as snacks a day I've worked for the Fresh Air Fund as a counselor at Camp Tommy 3 years in a row. That included the responsibility for a group of male campers aged 12.5 to 15.5. We had to provide 24 hr supervision, escort them to activities, the dining hall, and the great outdoors. I also worked with Harlem Hospital in their Pediatric Infectious Disease Clinic as a Youth Advocate and Peer Counselor. I provided educational workshops for HIV positive youths regarding sexual risk. Implemented, organized, and developed special events. I was responsible for patients advocacy with health care providers, as well as Co-Facilitator of the youth LGBTQ group. My training and certificates include: Peer Advocacy Training HIV Testing Module 1&2 Viral Hepatitis 101 HIV 101 & 102 Comprehensive Condom TOT The Positive Life Workshop Group Facilitation Training Violence Prevention and Intervention Certificate Child Abuse Maltreatment/Neglect Identification and Reporting Certificate

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Travis doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$13-$17/hr for the first child, $10 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Hydrocephaly
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Theater

Attended

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Travis's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now