Sittercity home

Looking for work as a special needs caregiver.

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Special Needs Caregiver in Brooklyn, NY 11206
  • 24 miles, will travel 10 mi

Meet Lily

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi Parents! My name is Lily. Originally from Massachusetts, I am a 28-year-old young professional living in Brooklyn for the past two years. I have been nannying consistently since living here, and my long-term plan is to pursue a career in International Education as I have a huge passion for travel. I hold a Bachelor's degree in Communications from UMass Amherst, as well as a 120-hour TEFL certificate which I received while teaching English in Vietnam for three years after University. During my first year and a half in Brooklyn I worked for a family with two girls, ages 8 and 11. My duties were to pick them up from school in Brooklyn and Manhattan and watch over them until dinner time when their parents got home. Some activities we would do were puzzles, art projects, reading, going to the park, playing cards, play dates with friends, and kicking around Read more a soccer ball. This position ended this past summer, and Due to Covid-19 the family decided to not have a nanny this year. Since September of this year I worked for two separate families whom I was already familiar with from pay dates from last year. (They are friends with my previous employers). My duties this year were a bit different, as I was monitoring their online schooling three days a week from 9am to 6pm while the parents worked elsewhere. I was responsible for four children, two boys ages 7 and 11 and two 9-year-old girls. I would sit with them and help them with schoolwork as well as troubleshoot any issues with the online system. In our free time during breaks and after they were done with their work we would go to the park nearby, play board games, and do art projects. Since the recent school closure both families have decided to move to their other homes outside of the city. I currently have complete open availability and am looking for as many hours as possible. If you think this may be a good fit for you and your family I would love to schedule a phone call to talk further. From there I am happy to provide as many references as you need. I look forward to hearing from you!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 03/11/2019

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

2

0

0

0

0

Bonnie S.

1/17/2019

Lily was great at babysitting our son. She was always reliable, on time, and safe with him. She did whatever I asked whether it was play a game, oversee homework, or cut up a vegetable before dinner. She has a warm personality and I can’t say enough good things about her. She’s terrific!

Roland C.

1/17/2019

Lily did a great job housesitting and taking care of our dog and cat! We would definitely hire her again or recommend her to others.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication

Education

Communications

Graduated University of Massachusetts - Amherst 2015

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Lily's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now