Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 9 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11233

Meet Gemica

  • Comfortable with pets

Hello! I only work with school age children, not infants or toddlers. If this works for you, keep reading. : ) Hi! My name is Gem. : ) I have worked with children as an arts educator and caregiver for 7 years. I cook healthy, mostly plant based food, and I also know basic first aid. I am looking for families who feel like a good fit who need regular hours. I offer arts based childcare. Art is an excellent way for your child to play, express themselves, and regulate emotionally. Through creativity, we can relate to others and make sense of the world. Using my expertise as an artist, teacher, and role model, I will guide your child towards self-discovery. Together, we will make something beautiful! The arts based childcare that I offer is holistic and may also incorporate meditation, movement, healthy meals or creative baking. Thank-you for your Read more interest!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Expired on 12/02/2021

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/1/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Jessica F.


Exceptionally fantastic. I hired Gemica for a short term job and she was 100% amazing in every way. Extremely thoughtful, kind, and perfectly sensitive to my sensitive child. I wish I could have hired Gemica to nanny when my son was younger and I needed someone just like her. Would hire again in a heartbeat.

Christine M.



Willing to care for 1 child per sitting

$25-$35/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Mental Illness
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Fine art

Graduated California College of the Arts 2012


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Gemica's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now