Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 7 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11204

Meet Sasha

  • Speaks French
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I am an energetic, creative, well-rounded nanny who has been professionally nannying for 3 years and babysitting for over 10 years. I have provided childcare for children from six months to 12 years of age, including multiples from different age groups. I have experience with meal prepping, bedtime routine, potty training, coordinating play dates, homework help, overnight stays, organizing family schedules and extracurriculars, driving children and much more. I was born and raised in Brooklyn, though I left the city for the Midwest where I attended college at Ohio University. At OU, I received my BA in Anthropology specializing in Food Studies. I enjoy cooking and eating alike; I am a vegetarian, but I promise my food won’t have carnivores disappointed. Following graduation, I moved to Senegal where I taught middle school English on a Fulbright fellowship. I taught a class of 60 students, while also leading cultural programming activities Read more for young adults looking to learn and practice English at the U.S. Embassy in Dakar. My approach to nannying is to collaboratively work with families to foster healthy environments built on transparency, trust and support. It is important to me that families I work with are aligned with my parenting style; I believe caregivers are responsible for little ones physical, social, mental AND emotional well being. Boundaries are healthy (no is not a naughty word) and I strive for balance between being organized and disciplined, while also playful and warm. Currently, I am looking for both full and part-time nanny and family assistant positions, with a preference for positions that have travel opportunities. I speak conversational French. I hold a valid passport and been to 16 countries, hoping to see many more. I believe traveling is the best way to learn about history and interact with people who you may have never conversed with elsewise. Exposing children to the wonders of the world excites me! When I am not nannying, I’m focused on my writing; I am a published writer and storytelling is a passion of mine. If I sound like a fit for your family, please reach out! I would love to meet you, either virtually or in person. I’d be happy to provide you with my references upon request. *I am COVID vaccinated. *I own a car and have experience driving children. *I love dogs; I am allergic to cats. *Families of Color and Queer Family friendly.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Completed Enhanced Background Check Badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Completed 04/16/2022. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 04/16/2022. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 6/22/22

Ratings & reviews

4.0 4.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

3

0

0

0

1

Sarah G.

5/2/2021

Sasha watched our 2-year-old for about 6 months, until our daughter returned to daycare. I cannot speak more highly of Sasha. She brought a sense of fun and wonder every day; she was constantly engaging our daughter--speaking with her, reading, making art, doing pretend play. My partner and I were both primarily working from home during this time, and she had no problem spending much of the day outside, and was always down for adventures like the zoo or aquarium. On top of being wonderful and loving with our daughter, she is also super communicative and responsive, which was important for us. We feel so grateful to have found her, and recommend her to other families without reservation.

Celena D.

3/22/2021

We just started with Sasha & she has been amazing so far with our 3.5 year old. She is a great communicator with adults and children alike - it is clear from speaking with her that she is organized and thoughtful. With our daughter she is immediately engaged and connected - she speaks to her with respect and care and authentically enjoys being with her.

Yvonne C.

8/6/2020

Disregard prior rating. She just quit with less than 24 hrs notice saying she couldn’t handle my 3 yr old son’s emotions and temper tantrums. She was only here for 2.5 days! Super disappointed, shocked and sad. I’m a working mom and have to scramble to find a new sitter.

Yvonne C.

8/6/2020

Sasha is amazing! So great with my 3 yr old son - patient, fun, understanding, and a pleasure to work with:)

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$25-$30/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Anthropology

Graduated Ohio University - Main Campus 2017

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Sasha's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now