Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 32
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11209

Meet Karen

  • Speaks English and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Hello! I'll start with my heart and motor, Ryan. He's 2 years & 4 months old and has taught me a lot of what I know about infant and toddler care. Two years ago we moved to CT but had no luck finding a good job for my husband, so he would commute to the city every day until we decided to simply come back. I, on the other hand, was blessed to land a lead teaching position with preschoolers at the prestigious Bright Horizons Day Care. The first four months, I worked in the infant program before being promoted. Ryan was also a Bright Horizons baby for as long as I worked there-- if I could have it my way, I would've accepted the transfer, but the nearest Bright Horizons is too far for us to travel by train -I DO NOT DRIVE- I think that's important for you Read more to know! We've been back in NY since December 1st. Prior to Bright Horizons, I worked 8 years for Sunnyside Community Services at I.S. 5 in Queens as a Homework Help, Cooking, and Arts & Crafts Instructor with ages ranging from 5 to 14-years-old. My teaching style is based on scaffolding and learning through play, and there's nothing I love more than getting messy just to deliver a meaningful learning experience. More than a babysitter, I am committed to getting to know your child's developmental needs and provide age-appropriate activities while they're in my care. I am currently pursuing my BA in Early Childhood Education from Ashford University and have completed 64 credits thus far. I have two more years to go until I'm allowed to pursue a teaching license to become a Kindergarten Teacher. Being able to stay in the field of ECE, whether it's through babysitting, tutoring, or teaching, is very important to me, and this is why I would love to be a part of your child's academic and social journey!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available evenings and weekends
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Karen doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$12-$20/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Early Childhood Education

Currently attending Ashford University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Karen's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now