Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 9 years paid experience
  • Age 23
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11221

Meet Shannon

  • Comfortable with pets

I am a recent graduate from NYU's English Education program. I have dreamed of dedicating my life to the learning and growth of all children, and I am so excited to finally get into the classroom and start making a change. I am anticipating my initial teaching certification in the next months, as I am working on my portfolio to submit. I have already passed my two certification exams. Beyond my education focusing on the child's mind and experience, I have also been an older sister my whole life. Starting from a young age, I constantly helped my mother take care of my younger brothers. This has allowed me to see first hand the progression and blooming of a human life, in addition to some of the seemingly scary things that come with it; I am used to dirty diapers, acid reflux, temper tantrums, spilled milk, sibling rivalry, picky eaters, Read more sugar rushes, and moody blues alike. While my own family experience certainly has afforded me a lot of knowledge about child care and what it looks like at different stages in a kid's life, I began babysitting outside of my home in early high school, nearing ten years ago. I continued my babysitting experience after high school through college to maintain some income while I was focusing on my studies and student teaching placements. I have experience with babies in my personal life as young as fresh from the hospital, but I have babysat outside of my home babies as young as 5 months. I have babysat pretty much every age group - babies, toddlers, kindergarteners, elementary and middle school children alike. I am an excellent babysitter because I love to teach! Of course, not everything that happens must be turned into a teachable moment, but I feel the happiest and I feel kids are being served the best when they are given one of the most valuable resources in the world - knowledge. I am socially minded, very patient, kind, and am eager to please! My time as a teacher and high performing student have made me reliable, consistent and on time. I firmly believe that the life of a child is one of the most magical things in the world and I will do everything in my power to make it a vibrant one. I also love animals and don't mind pets at all - they're a bonus! I love taking kids to the park, doing DIY projects, cooking and baking, playing board and video games and watching movies and cartoons. While I enjoy these activities, I am most excited to learn new things from your children, making lasting memories together!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Shannon doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Visual Impairment
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

English Education

Graduated New York University 2018

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Shannon's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now