Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 41
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11231

Meet Melissa

  • Comfortable with pets

Hi there, I am a 32 year old New York native who grew up as a the oldest of 6 children in Bay Shore, Long Island.  I spent my childhood between Long Island and New York City (where my grandparents lived.)  I have lived independently in New York City for 10+ years in various neighborhoods throughout Manhattan and more recently in Brooklyn.  I am extremely comfortable navigating NYC and NYC subways, busses and parks! I am an avid runner and compete in many different running races throughout the area and throughout the U.S.  I have completed marathons and triathlons and enjoy most outdoor activities and sports.  My first love is Central Park. I grew up on the south shore of Long Island and was born into a sailing family.  I have raced small sail boats competitively since I was 10 years old.  I previously was the head coach for a Read more high school varsity sailing team in Long Island for two seasons and I spent 5 summers teaching and coaching sailing in Fire Island.  I have previously been licensed in CPR, First Aid and AED - but they are currently not up to date (happy to become licensed again.) I currently work in Finance and I am looking for a form of supplemental income as I am working on saving for some big life events in the near future.  I am extremely comfortable with children (and pets) and can't think of a more suitable “side job” as I look to build my savings. Thanks for your time and I look forward to meeting you and your family. Best, Melissa  

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and weekends
  • After school care availability


  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • My availability is valid through 2/12/13

Ratings & reviews

Melissa doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting


  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)



Graduated Old Dominion University


Share Melissa's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now