Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 14 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11237
  • 17 miles, will travel 10 mi

Meet Catherine

  • Comfortable with pets

Now looking for a job for 1-2 days a week! I started taking care of kids when my brother was born in 2001. I loved babysitting him and it gave me a chance to learn to deal with food allergies and special needs (OCD). I babysat for local families throughout middle school and high school when I became a summer nanny. I first worked for a family that had a child with a neurological impairment. I spent the summer working with her to improve her CNS and physical mobility. The next summer was with a family with three kids who kept me very busy! We spent time swimming and running around and doing lots of summer activities. I have since spent time with some families as a babysitter and as a primary nanny here in New York! I have picked up countless kids to take them to after school activities Read more and playdates. I have also had the pleasure of being long term nannies for two great families. I spent nearly two years with a 4 year old with Cerebral Palsy and several other health problems. I worked with her physical and occupational therapists as well as teachers to help improve her daily life and mobility. I then worked with a wonderful family with a bright, vivacious 4 year old. We had lots of fun excursions to museums and parks, playdates and ballet and just having fun and reading at home. I have also worked with older children with behavioral and learning disorders and feel comfortable working with families to help address these special needs however I can. I feel really grateful for getting to be a part of these families and am still in touch with them - it's so great watching all my little ones grow up! I am able to drive and take kids on public transportation for school, appointments and playdates. I have experience as a music teacher, a tutor and just a general playmate! I am always willing to learn and as an older sister I am very patient - especially with siblings! I'm a great cook and am happy to help clean up and doing any home help needed. I've even helped parents with home organizing, personal errands and business/office work. I'm a happy, funny and warm person and I think I can be a great asset to a family who needs not just help but enrichment and happiness in their homes.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired on 07/25/2016.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired on 08/22/2017.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/28/16

Ratings & reviews

4.0 4.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

0

1

0

0

0

N. N.

4/7/2013

I hired Katie to be an emergency babysitter to help care for my infant daughter for a week: I'm so glad I did! Katie is an attentive caregiver, full of games, and knowledgeable about infant development. She was also a pleasure to spend time with.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$23-$30/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Dyslexia
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Seizures
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Liberal Arts

Sarah Lawrence College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Catherine's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now