Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Brooklyn, NY 11210
  • 9 miles, will travel 15 mi

Meet Niomi

  • Comfortable with pets

I'm Niomi, and I'm a nanny, babysitter and tutor with over 6 years of experience in childcare, domestic help, and academic tutoring with children from ages 6mos-12 years. As the older sister of an 18-year-old, and aunt of a 5-year-old niece, I have applied my knowledge of what it takes to care for loved ones in my work with with New York City families and schools. I got a unique start when I I first began my work in childcare at just 11 years old in 2005, as an assistant for my former babysitter. I moved on to become a full-time nanny in 2012 for two children, ages 3 and 5. I later continued my work in childcare as a part-time babysitter for 11-year-old twins in the Lower East Side of Manhattan, and after that moved to a part-time tutoring and babysitting position in Washington Heights. At this position, I Read more provided homework help and academic support for an 8-year-old girl. During this time I also occasionally babysat for a family with a 6 year old girl in Brooklyn Heights. My tutoring and academic support experience spans several years. I was a homework coach at i9 Sports (now known as Ultimate Enrichment) in 2013, and moved on to become a science activities instructor for the nonprofit organization Good Shepherd Services from 2013-2014. These experiences not only left me with a good working knowledge of how I can support your child academically and developmentally, but also gave me a ton of lesson plans for cool at-home science project ideas that we can do on rainy days! :) I started college at Penn State (Hazleton campus) with a major in Advertising and Public Relations, and am currently working on a Communications degree at LaGuardia Community College. I currently hold a certificate of completion from National Nanny Training Day 2012, and am the author of a romance themed cookbook called Bittersweet Breakups, which is now out on Amazon for Kindle. (Check it out here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B079TDV5MF?ref=aw_sitb_digital-text) Thanks for taking a look at my page--your interest in hiring me for your family is greatly appreciated.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired on 08/19/2016.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 4/19/19

Ratings & reviews

Niomi doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Mental Illness
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy

Education

Communications

Currently attending

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Niomi's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now