Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Centereach, NY 11720

Meet Arlene

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Special Education Certification
  • Speaks French
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

My name is Arlene and I would like to briefly introduce myself for your consideration. I am a licensed Social Worker, recently retired from mental health assessment and treatment positions for a combined 30 years. Although the work was emotionally exhausting, I have plenty of heart and energy left to care for and love children of any age. To begin with, I have performed child and family therapy at a Children's psychiatric hospital, as well as an adolescent inpatient and outpatient programs. I was also a certified Early Education Teacher for birth through age 2 with experience conducting ABA, Home Teaching preschool-aged children with disabilities or Autism Spectrum Disorder. Earlier in my work life, after my children went to elementary school, I had years of experience as an aide at BOCES Early Pregnant and Parenting Program. This was my all-time favorite job providing infant to toddler care for young parents Read more in High School. While we Teacher Aides did all the feeding, parent training, and play education, their mothers finished high school, and most went on to attend college. During that time I was raising my own wonderful children. So, I come with bonuses that will provide free early education and playtime that enhances cognitive ability- marrying that with fun right from the start. Past studies include Children's Literature and American Sign Language, which I bring to delight any baby or toddler. My background check and NYS fingerprinting will give you peace while I bring joy and laughter to your child's developmental stage. My "Sitting" will add an extra grandmother's love to the family that you can use for nights out if needed, as well. But most people find it hard to believe I am a grandmother because of my active and happy nature. I can't wait to be devoted to your child's wellbeing and growth and put my credentials to good use with your little beauty or beauties.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 09/17/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Arlene doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Pervasive Development Disorder
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Social Welfare; Early Childhood and Special Education Elementary

Graduated Dowling College 2005

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Social studies
    • French

Share Arlene's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now