JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 30 years paid experience
  • Age 67
  • Babysitter in East Amherst, NY 14051

Meet Barbara

  • Early Childhood Special Education Certification
  • Special Education Certification
  • Has a car

I am an experienced teacher with 3 certifications in elementary, special education and education administration. Along with starting a preschool special education program at Sweet Home Schools I was also in charge of Federal Funding and was a summer school principal. My qualifications as a nanny/babysitter would come from my long time experience as a teacher of special education, enrichment and main-stream students. After being retired for several years I am finding that I miss the interaction with my students and getting up each day with a smile to greet them at the door. I love the outdoors and would enjoy taking my "charges" outside {winter or summer) for some fresh air. I miss reading aloud to my students and hearing them read to me. Having a chance to do this again would be another part of the position that would enhance the day. I feel I was a very Read more creative teacher with both my students and with my children at home. My daughter is now a lawyer in Boston after going to Harvard Law School and my son has a successful job in town. I have no grandchildren and all the more reason for me to enjoy the opportunity to interact with young children. I am energetic, active and have a very flexible schedule. I do not believe you would be disappointed if I was the person chosen to spend time with your child. (children)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check Expired

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check Expired

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Barbara doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$30/hr for the first child, $3 for each additional child

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Cancer
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Hearing Loss
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Tourette Syndrome
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis

Education

Elementary , Special Education, Education Administration

Graduated 1974

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Barbara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now