Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 20
  • Babysitter in Elmhurst, NY 11373

Meet Chynna

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets

HI! My name is Chynna but most people call me Coco. I'm a student studying creative writing, with the intent that I will one day write children's books! Ever since I was a young girl I have been taking care of children. Running daycares is something many members of my family do, so I spent most of my years working in and out of them. I've worked with newborns to preteens, kids with special needs to kids from troubled homes. My family is also one that homes foster children, so I also have experience with that. And no matter the personality or background of the child, one thing remains the same: the need of love and patience. It wasn't just the abundance of family daycares in my life that drew me to working with kids. I used to be the bullied kid in school and it forced me to retreat Read more and do a lot of people watching. I took note of how I felt, of what I felt I needed at them time, and what caused the other kids to act the way they do. I made the decision, in those moments, that I would dedicate my life to bringing as much love and light to other people's lives as much as possible, because I certainly knows what it feels like to be left in darkness. When I work with kids I like to incorporate multicultural learning. Whether it be learning words from a new language, trying foods from a different culture, or even visiting museums! I think it is extremely important to show that being different is okay! I also love to teach kids yoga! It reinforces healthy habits for the body, while also allowing the child to relax and have fun trying new stretches! I also encourage healthy communication styles, expression through art, and expression through self! My most important goal is to make sure that all children in my care feel 100% safe enough to be THEM, no matter who that person is. I strive to create warm environments, ones that they feel safe enough in to be open and free. I am on my way to becoming certified on CPS. My last two years have been hectic and I had to move across the country, TWICE. So, I never had the time. But I am very excited to say I have now taken permanent residency in NYC and I hope to have it within this month or the next. ALSO, I don't mind working with animals! Okay! I think that about sums everything up. I think I'll end this off saying that working with children is quite literally something that runs in my blood. I have a passion for it like no other and I truly cannot wait for the adventures to come!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 12/06/2019.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

  • Generally available evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • After school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Chynna doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$10/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Bathing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Creative Writing

Currently attending Diablo Valley College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Chynna's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now