Sittercity home

Looking for work as a special needs caregiver.

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Special Needs Caregiver in Hawthorne, NY 10532
  • 14 miles, will travel 20 mi

Meet Shannon

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I’m an early childhood educator with my associates degree and over 20 years of experience working with children. I have two children of my own. Iv been a stay at home mom for about 5 years and loved it. Im looking to help out a caring family for a few hrs during during the day. I’m currently residing at my grandfathers for the rest of the year while I help my family with his needs and night care. My passion is caring for children and my philosophy is to learn through play and discovery. I enjoy going on walks and observing the changes in nature. Creating art projects of all kinds. Sensory exploration is an important part of learning through play and I enjoy using several different types of textures when possible. I help encourage children with being independent when they can while learning helpful problem solving skills. Reading stories Read more and relaxing, either inside on a couch or outside in beautiful weather often while having a picnic. Safety is always first right alongside fun learning. I love laughing children but I also allow safety and freedom for children to express their variety of emotions and space to discuss them and learn more about each of them. I have worked with all ages for several years from infants to preschool. I have been a Nanny for several families. I have been a teachers assistant as well as a lead teacher for each age throughout my time.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Shannon doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Down Syndrome
    • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Sensory Integration Disorder
    • Administering Medication
    • Applied Behavior Analysis
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Early childhood development

Graduated 2008

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework

Share Shannon's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now