Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 20 years paid experience
  • Age 43
  • Babysitter in Holbrook, NY 11741

Meet Lori

  • Speaks Sign Language
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I enjoy working with children of all ages: newborn to age 15. I have worked as a babysitter, mother's helper, nanny, camp counselor, photographer, tutor and Recreation Therapist. I volunteered as a camp counselor with kids and their families who have cancer at a retreat in Maine for the past couple of years. I tutor children in learning American Sign Language. I have worked as a photographer. I'm looking for a full-time or part time position to be with an amazing family! I am very outgoing, love to have fun, teaching children sign language, help with cooking, put on fashion/dance shows, helping with homework, playing sports, capturing the candid moments throughout the day, swimming lessons, learning/exploring new things, arts and craft projects, etc. My goal is to make everyday life easier for the parents when they get home from work. Being happy is priceless!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Expired. Last completed on 10/16/2015.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Summer Position, Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/31/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Jessica A.

7/23/2013

We were at an out-of-town wedding and I hired Lori at our destination via a phone interview to take care of our kids (3 y/o and 3-month-old). As one would think, it can be stressful to not know the person you are about to leave your kids with, but she sounded very confident, warm, and outgoing on the phone. We met her in person an hour before we left for the wedding and I immediately felt comfortable that my kids would be safe with her. My 3 y/o son warmed right up to her and barely cared that we were leaving, which is usually not the case! She clearly had experience with young infants and children, and was able to easily give both of them the attention they needed. She communicated with me throughout the day and night, and kept notes of feeding schedules, activities, etc. When we arrived back , we had 2 happy, fed, bathed, comfy, sound asleep kids! I would highly recommend Lori and would absolutely hire her again. I wish she lived closer to us!!

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Cerebral Palsy
    • Delayed Speech
    • Diabetes
    • Down Syndrome
    • Epilepsy
    • Hearing Loss
    • Heart Defects
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Multiple Sclerosis
    • Premature Newborn
    • Seizures
    • Spinal Cord Injury
    • Visual Impairment
    • Administering Medication
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Sign Language
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Therapeutic Recreation

Graduated Saint Josephs College 2001

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • English

Share Lori's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now