Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 6 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Lake Grove, NY 11755

Meet Shayna

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello my name is Shayna. I recently relocated to Denver from Los Angeles, where I left my adored job as a nanny for a wonderful toddler and newborn. Prior to living in Los Angeles I moved to the west coast from New York, where I was lead teacher in a pre-school on Long Island, NY. I am currently working as a lead teacher here in Denver and am available to babysit as well. Outside of teaching, my hobbies include reading, hiking, and camping, which is a large part of the reason for moving to the west coast. During my two years of experience as a lead pre-school teacher, I was able to work with a variety of ages from infancy to 11 years old. My main experience in the classroom was with age 2, where myself and a co-teacher would care for 10 children during the day. In addition to Read more my pre-school experience, I have also worked privately with families outside of the school providing nanny and baby sitting services. I have a passion for working with children that stems from their ability to unintentionally teach you something new every time you interact with them. As a caretaker of children my goal is to provide each child with the tools and support he/she needs to become a confident and independent individual. Each child requires something different to flourish and it is an intriguing and fun challenge to take the time to discover how one child learns best. I personally enjoy allowing children to learn through free play and exploration of the environment around them, which helps to boost their imagination, deepen their social and emotional skills, and allow them to better understand the world in which they live. I also enjoy creating age appropriate learning activities that everyone involved will enjoy. I look forward to finding a family that fits my needs as well!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Completed 08/23/2021. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Before and after school care availability

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 10/19/19

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Ashley S.

2/25/2021

I can't say enough about Shayna's availability and quick response when you need her. She is wonderful and my little guy loves having her watch him.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$25/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Psychology

Attended Suffolk County Community College

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework

Share Shayna's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now