Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 38 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in Little Neck, NY 11363
  • 20 miles, will travel 25 mi

Meet Mark

  • Speaks Hebrew
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

About Me I was born April 10, 1956. I grew up in Rockaway Beach in Queens, which to this day is an amazing place to raise children. With lots of open spaces for bike riding, all types of sports, and great beaches to play on all year round, it’s full of healthy activities, all of which I took part in while growing up. From nursery school to eighth grade, I attended the Robert Gordis Day School, a conservative yeshiva where half my day was in English and the other half in Hebrew. I am very comfortable with Judaic rituals, but for me it is the spirit of Judaism I love. Each Passover you will find an eclectic group of about 35 people singing at one of my contemporary Seders. Children at my Seders always feel completely free to join in the annual spirited discussion of freedom. And they love the Read more plagues—throwing sticky frogs and making it hail with ping pong balls! After graduating Rockaway High School, I attended New York University to study accounting. I loved living in the Village, but accounting, not as much. Rethinking my career path, I spent the next year working in a kindergarten alongside my own kindergarten teacher. It was amazing being her assistant. Building on that experience, I studied elementary education at Lesley College in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Working with kids everyday was pure joy and the rewards were many. But I needed to pay my bills, and when I received an unusual opportunity at the age of 23, I threw myself into what would become a lifelong video editing career at Magno Sound, a video post-production company in Times Square. I edited there for 38 wonderful years. My high profile client list included Disney, MTV, ESPN, A&E, Sesame Street, and even Spike Lee, among so many others. I worked on commercials, documentaries, medical instructional videos, public relations presentations, show reels, and more. Recently Magno Sound shuttered its doors. Now that I am retired from Magno, I am fully embracing my next challenge. I want to be a manny. Embracing the exciting, exhausting, satisfying world of teaching, mentoring, and caring for children is my dream job. You will notice an important theme throughout my recommendations: I have been many unofficial manny to my friends’ children for decades. Life is odd, my first favorite job was teaching and nurturing kids. Now I want to return to that wonderful experience; the care of our most important resource. The next generation. Sincerely, Mark

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 12/14/2020

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Mark doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 2 children per sitting

$15-$30/hr

  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Hebrew

Share Mark's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now