Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 9 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10032

Meet Tanya

  • Comfortable with pets

I have always enjoyed working with children. In fact, its my favorite population of people to work with! My high-energy, kind, and playful spirit is often what makes children gravitate towards me. I'm usually the person that comes into someone's house, and after a few minutes of me getting down to eye-level with someone's child and and being playful, nurturing and receptive has the child following me around the house for the rest of the day. My friends call me the "kid-whisperer". I've slayed quite a few 'monsters', drank hundreds of cups of imaginary tea and know the plasticy taste of toy food being shoved into your mouth by a persistent child chef. In high school, my friends grandmother enlisted me to help her with her in-house daycare center. I was 16 with no car, living in the Poconos, so this was the best summer job I could get, since Read more it was in walking distance of my house. At this "daycare center" I watched up to 10 kids at a time aging from 6 months to 9 years old. What I did not know was that what my friend's grandmother meant by help, was more like "do everything while I watch Oprah upstairs". I warmed breast milk, prepared lunches, changed diapers, gave piggyback rides, read books, gave puppet shows and so much more. Albeit I was being paid horribly due to my teenage naivety, it was a cool summer job. In college in NYC, I held a position with an Americorps early childhood education program calls Jumpstart. I served inside of various inner-city preschools, fostering literacy, social development and positive adult-child relationships. It was there that I learned the importance of structure; learning through play and consistency when working with children. I served with Jumpstart for three years. During the summers I worked with Afterschool Allstars CampUS program which bused in over 1000 children (7-14) from New York City Housing Authority developments onto my college campus for two weeks of education and recreation. I was a mentor, teacher's assistant as well as group-leader ushering kids around our sprawling campus. i received the Allstar Mentor award there for my work. On June 20th 2014 I completed a year of service with AmeriCorps City Year. I served inside of a 7th grade ELA A.S.D NEST classroom for 10 months. I received CPR certification during this time as well as garnering skills working with children with disabilities. In this time, I also decided to become a pediatric occupational therapist. :)

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons and evenings
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Tanya doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$17-$25/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Positive Behavioral Support

Education

Biology

Graduated St. John's University - New York 2015

References

Additional services

  • Light Housekeeping
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Tanya's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now