Sittercity home

Looking for work as a special needs caregiver.

  • 12 years paid experience
  • Special Needs Caregiver in New York, NY 10009
  • 7 miles, will travel 10 mi

Meet Matsy

  • Speaks German
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi, I'm Matsy! I grew up in Delaware and moved to NYC 12 years ago to study costume design and visual arts. I have always loved children and found great joy in watching them and helping them learn. I'm looking for a little extra babysitting work to help supplement my income from teaching and creative projects. I have been babysitting in addition to working as a costume designer and educator in NYC since I moved here in 2010. On the education side, I am currently an adjunct professor at Pace University teaching costume design, sewing, and fashion history. I also worked for a year teaching Art & Shakespeare workshops for middle & high school students in the Bronx and have worked as a summer camp counselor - most recently teaching Sewing at Curious Jane Camp in Park Slope. I love to encourage kids to be creative, active and embrace the Read more beauty around us. **Please note - I don't always update my availability on Sittercity, but typically I am always free early mornings, nights, and weekends.**

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported


  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Matsy doesn't have any reviews yet.


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$25-$35/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Overnight care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Social/Emotional
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Theatre Design (visual arts and art history minors)

Graduated Pace University - New York 2015

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • German

Share Matsy's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now