JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter.

  • 13 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10002

Meet Cornelia

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

***My availability does not end in February 2016; SitterCity's settings dictate that I say that. I am available indefinitely! I have never met a child who wasn't enthralled by my plethora of different storytelling voices and characters. I am extremely responsible, but I still consider myself a child at heart and find myself having just as much fun playing Legos as does the child. I know how to find a balance with children between having fun, having responsibilities, and having discipline. If I could have started babysitting when I was 8, I would have. I have always loved caring for children and find incredible enjoyment in spending my time working with, playing, and aiding in the development of children. I have been babysitting for over twelve years, and have worked as both a full-time, live-in nanny, as well as worked summers caring for one family, and otherwise have worked countless Read more jobs babysitting and working as a mother's helper to children of all different ages. While working as a live-in nanny in Alexandria, VA, (during a year I took off before attending college) I cared for a 1, 3, and 5 year old and assisted in all manner of their lives, education, transportation, after school activities, playdates, scheduling, creative outlets, meals, bathtime, bedtime, morning routines, some homework assistance in the case of the five year old, and educational lesson planning in the case of the 3 year old. I have dealt with non-emergency sickness and injury, as well as tantrums and nightmares. I instill in children a love for all things creative, which take shape through craft projects, baking, educational pursuits, and a bright and hefty imagination. I believe in making a mess during playtime, but find it imperative to learn how to tidy up before dinner. I always hold true to letting children be children, if that means that a scraped knee is the result, then so be it, so long as safety is my number one priority. I am trained in CPR and am always overly cautious, especially when caring for children in a large city. However, I try my best not to hover when children wish to let their imaginations soar, especially in tandem with other young minds. Lastly, one thing with which I do not waver is my belief in having a clean home, and a neat living space in which to have fun. This means, for me, allowing children to be as creative and adventurous as they like, but always allowing a moment to tidy up together afterwards.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability

Ratings & reviews

Cornelia doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$20-$25/hr for the first child, $5 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Delayed Speech
    • Developmental Language Disorder
    • Down Syndrome
    • Dyslexia
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

English and creative writing

Graduated Hobart & William Smith Colleges 2015

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies
    • Spanish

Share Cornelia's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now