Sittercity home

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Babysitter in New York, NY 10021

Meet Joana

  • Speaks Italian
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi parents! My name is Joana, I’m 28 years old and I live in the Upper East Side. I speak Italian and Albanian and have a bachelors degree in Business Informatics from Europe, so if you’d like your children to learn a new language or some computer programming skills, I might be the right babysitter for them : ) I've been babysitting since high school and have spent my years in college working as a nanny for a family with two children of ages 3 and 9. While in the past years, I've worked part-time and full-time for five New York based families with children of the ages 3, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11 and 12. I genuinely enjoy spending time with kids and having lots of fun with them, but at the same time, I take safety and house rules very seriously. I’m extremely dedicated and creative and I Read more always find new ways of engaging children in playtime and homework time. I also realize that every child is unique so I’m patient with them and flexible with the activities and games that they want to play. Furthermore, I always aim to take care of kids with the same love and understanding that I would take care of my own siblings, because not only do I want to build a great relationship with them and their parents, but most importantly I want to feel happy and proud for doing an amazing job. I hope I share the same values as you do, from education, to discipline, to keeping children happy and healthy, because if these things are in line I believe that we can have a great working relationship together :) Thank you very much for your time and consideration! I’m really looking forward to hearing from you and your family soon!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Completed Enhanced Background Check Badge Icon

    Enhanced Criminal

    Completed 08/12/2022. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic Criminal

    Expired on 07/14/2021

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor Vehicle Records

    Never run.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.



  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends
  • Daytime care availability during summer months
  • Before and after school care availability


  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/1/21

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Virginie H.


We had an excellent experience with Joana ! Always on time and full of energy (which is great when you have a 5 year old child). She’s patient and careful, loves art and craft, is very entertaining. She went to the museum with our daughter, to the park, gave me live updates. I highly recommend her !

Eva B.


Joana is amazing. We were visiting NYC for three weeks and Joana looked after my 7 and 9 year old during our stay. My kids adored her. Joana was reliable and punctual, always came with toys and activities and very helpful by tidying up and preparing meals. In such a short time, Joana became a part of our family and my kids miss her now we are back home.

Stephen C.


I found Joana here on Sittercity and she helped us out after a last minute cancellation. We cannot speak more highly of her or recommend her enough. She arrived with a bunch of fun games and crafts which our 7 & 12 year olds immediately dug into. My daughter wants her to come back tonight!

Ruth B.


Kids had the day off school and Joana helped us out in a pinch. She was on time, kept them entertained with games, and we will definitely have her back.

Nathaniel J.


Joana was fantastic. She brought surprises and fun things for my kids. She was very attentive and played with them

Will & Diana T.


We were visiting NYC from LA for a few days for a mostly work filled trip.  Joana was proactive, she arrived a few mins early each time and really sweet with the our 5 yo and 2 yo. She proactively searched out places for the kids to play in, took care of meals, and tidied up our tiny hotel room.  Joana kept us updated on what the kids were doing and took pictures.  She asked really great questions about the girls routines and really put our minds at ease. We are looking forward to coming back to NYC so we can work with her again. Our girls became really attached to Joana even after just a few days.  We highly recommend her for your families.

Aiko S.


I hired her for the first time yesterday and I'm glad that I did! She is an ideal babysitter. Very friendly, punctual and responsible. Communication with her was very easy and clear. She asked me all questions and she did everything I wanted her to do. My daughter liked her too. I will definitely hire her again.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting


  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)


Business Informatics

Graduated 2014


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Travel with Family
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Science
    • English
    • Italian

Share Joana's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now